Disney+ Hotstar, Netflix, Prime Video and other OTT platform sign self regulation Code

The Internet and Mobile Association of India ( IAMAI ) has announced the Universal Self Regulation Code for streaming content in India. The top players which has been signed up for the code including Disney+ Hotstar, Amazon Prime Video, Netflix, Zee5, Voot , MX Player , Jio Cinema and included local OTT platforms.

In this self regulation code signatory platform needs to have a framework which for age classification and description for each title and access controls as well as part of the regulation code. This move will give the users more choice and control over the content they prefer to watch.

They code aims towards what is best for both consumers and creators as guiding principles which intends for India to be one of the most dynamic and fastest growing entertainment industries in the world.

The code is effective from 15 August 2020 and each signatory has to set-up grievance redressal mechanism in form of an advisory council with two executives from respectively platform and one external independent advisory member and a Consumer Complaints Department to deal with complaints , appeals within 60 days.

IAMAI said , The Universal Self- Regulation Code for OCCPs is build around a shared belief that consumer expowerment and creative excellence are key to the long-term success of the Indian entertainent industry.

Most of the major streaming services have adopted the Code and we look forward to others joining as well.